Why Liverpool?

Liverpool3

A few years ago, I wrote a novel for Nanowrimo.  It was about a vicar’s naughty daughter … or was it a naughty vicar’s daughter … no, it was definitely the daughter who was naughty.  Anyway, she ran away and ended up in London and got into all kinds of scrapes.  I had the first rough draft of a novel which I put aside and ignored because it had just been a bit of fun.  However, no matter how hard I tried to move on from it, the story kept  swirling around in my head.  What had started out as the bawdy tale of a cleric’s wayward offspring evolved into that of a story I will be proud to tell … though I have to admit, I did enjoy my mid-life experiment in erotic literature!

By now, London had become Liverpool.  Why Liverpool?  I knew next-to-nothing about the place … I hadn’t even been there, for goodness sake.  I grew up in the 1960s, so I knew that the Beatles were Liverpudlians and so was Cilla, and that it was somewhere up north, but that was the full extent of my knowledge!  Could I not just simplify things and revert back to London, or choose somewhere I was more familiar with?  No, it had to be Liverpool.  I wasn’t sure entirely why, but I had made up my mind.

The purpose of this blog, therefore, is for me to explore the history of the city of Liverpool as I write the second draft of my novel though, in truth, there is very little of the first draft left since cutting out all the titillating bits!  I will be writing about contemporary subjects too … buildings and objects my protagonist would never have seen, such as Liver Birds and Lambananas.  How could I not?  Liverpool’s present is as fascinating as its history.

To date, I have read and googled quite a lot about the city and visited it in June of this year, another visit planned for October.  I am so glad that my protagonist made her way to Liverpool, instead of London, for I’ve fallen in love with it, and I am excited to see what further treats are in store for me as I continue my research and relate the story of my vicar’s daughter who is, in many ways, still naughty.

 

Liverpool4

 

10 thoughts on “Why Liverpool?

  1. Thanks for the history lesson on London and Liverpool. I too have taken the challenge of writing for NaNoWriMo and completed two books, one I self-published and another I am now shopping around . . .

    See you later!

    Like

  2. Hi ellem63. Followed your link from my blog. Quite envious that you are writing a novel about Liverpool. That’s because I started one, oh about 9 or 10 years ago, my protagonist a Liverpool architect, which led me to researching the buildings, which in turn side tracked me to their history and never really got any further than that. I just kept writing down the stories of the buildings and people,1
    never went back to the story. I get the impression that your not from Liverpool, so if there is anything I can help you with, pictures, facts, stories etc. let me know I’d be more than happy to help.

    Like

    1. Hi Alan … oh, I know what getting sidetracked is like! The progress on my novel is so slow that I may have to leave it in my will for one of the family to complete. 😀 Who are these people who get up early in the morning, write until noon, and then write some more in the evening?! I’m finding the the best way for me is snatching increments of half-an-hour or so in between all the other jobs that need to be done. I hope you do get back to writing your novel because I’m sure it would be good. You’re right, I’m not from Liverpool … I’m a Glaswegian, now living in South Durham. Thank you for your offer of help. What I’m really interested in is how local people feel about their city. I find that we often take for granted and/or criticise what’s on our doorstep.
      Lesley

      Like

  3. Continued good luck with your novel, ellem63!

    As you probably know, one of Liverpool’s literary connections involves American writer Nathaniel Hawthorne. Back in the 1850s, “The Scarlet Letter” author penned a puffy presidential campaign biography of his college friend Franklin Pierce, and was rewarded with the position of U.S. consul in Liverpool after Pierce won.

    Hawthorne didn’t write any books in Liverpool (as far as I know), but, after leaving the city, traveled through Europe and eventually wrote the Italy-set “The Marble Faun” — his last novel.

    Like

    1. You’ve reminded me of it, Dave. I remember reading about that during my research. I’ve found that America and Liverpool had strong connections and the old consulate building was decorated with a golden bald eagle that would have been immediately recognisable to American sailors as they approached Liverpool … almost as striking as the Liver Bird! 😀
      Here’s a link to more about it:-
      http://www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/about/mediacentre/2014/eagle-sculpture-displayed.aspx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for that fascinating link!

    With its mention of shipping and sailors, I was also reminded of Herman Melville’s semi-autobiographical novel “Redburn” — about a difficult voyage between New York City and Liverpool, with some scenes in Liverpool as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

